Seven Arts Educators to Receive the Arts Institute’s 2019 AIM Awards

The Arts Institute of Mississippi (AIM) at The University of Southern Mississippi, established the AIM Awards to salute and honor the accomplishments of outstanding high school level arts teachers, schools, and organizations that are making an impact through exemplary achievements in arts education throughout the state of Mississippi.
“This year marks the 2nd year in which recipients are honored for commendable service to students and/or community,” said Dr. Jay Dean, executive director of AIM. “Their leadership, dedication, and achievements epitomize the highest standards in arts education throughout our state.”
The recipients of the 2019 AIM Awards are high school teachers in the Arts disciplines, including creative writing, dance, music (band, symphony orchestra, and choir), theatre, and visual arts. The Award recipients will be recognized at special events, either at their high schools or at Southern Miss, where they will be presented with the award.

Recipients include:

Catherine Williams: English Teacher, West Marion High School

Tammy Stanford: Dance/Theatre Movement Specialist, Mississippi School of the Arts

Terry Walker: Director of Choral Activities, Long Beach High School

Travis Coakley: Fine & Performing Arts Director/Director of Bands, Biloxi High School

Daniela Pardo: Teacher of Strings; Education Outreach Coordinator, USM Symphony Orchestra; Education Director & String Faculty, Mobile Symphony Orchestra

Dr. Robert Brooks: Theatre Instructor, Mississippi School of the Arts

Karli Corr: Art Teacher, Our Lady Academy High School

Arts Institute of Mississippi | 601-266-5922 | E-mail Website