Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the MAAE Arts Education Awards and Derek Pouncy Award and Scholarship will be postponed for a later date. Nominations will also be due at a later date to be posted soon.

The Mississippi Alliance for Arts Education (MAAE) 2019 Arts in Education Awards were presented at a special Awards reception during the MS Arts Commission Whole Schools Institute on June 13, 2019, at Millsaps College Academic Complex in Jackson. For more information about MAAE Arts Education Nominations 2020, please click HERE. For more information about the Derek Pouncey Memorial Scholarship & Award 2020, please click HERE.

2019 MAAE Award Winners and the Derek Pouncy Scholarship Winners

Thad Cochran Distinguished Arts Integration Award Andree Leckie Gamberi, Cathedral High School, Natchez
Thad Cochran Distinguished Visual Arts Award Carla Nations, Florence High School, Florence
Outstanding Administrator Award Dr. Rosalind Operton, Crestwood Elementary School, Meridian
Excellence in Higher Education Dr. Terry Dale Cruse, Mississippi State University–Meridian
Excellence in Higher Education in Theatre Joseph Frost, Belhaven University, Jackson
Exemplary Arts Service Betty Wong, New Stage Theatre, Jackson
Distinguished Cultural Institution The Mary C. O’Keefe Cultural Center, Ocean Springs
Arts Advocacy Award Mississippi Theatre Association
Lifetime Achievement Award Althea Jerome, Teaching Artist, Hattiesburg
Derek Pouncey Memorial Scholarship & Award Luke Lott, West Lauderdale High School, Collinsville
Lucas Thomas, Southeast High School, Meridian